2009 Wallenberg Award Information
  [ Chronology ] Bibliography ]Press Release ] Download Nomination Form ]

The American Swedish Historical Museum is seeking nominations for its 2009 Spirit of Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award. The award is presented to an individual, individuals or organization who/which has demonstrated a commitment to humanitarianism through acts which achieve a significant contribution, other than money, to alleviate human suffering or injustice, involved sacrifices or risks and are performed without expectation of reward or recognition. The award is named after Raoul Wallenberg, the courageous Swedish diplomat and his work to save Hungarian Jews during World War II.

Nominees for The Spirit of Raoul Wallenberg Award will be considered without regard to race, national origin, citizenship, political association, religion/creed, gender or age. The selected recipient need not have any relationship with, interest in or association with Sweden, the American Swedish Historical Museum or related organizations and causes.

The award is presented by the Board of Governors of the American Swedish Historical Museum. The Honorable Judge A. Leon Higginbotham received the first Spirit of Raoul Wallenberg Humanitarian Award in 1994 on the basis of his advocacy on behalf of America’s children within the legal profession and his human rights efforts in South Africa. In 1998, the award was given to Dr. William P. Magee, Jr. and Kathlene S. Magee for their work in establishing “Operation Smile”—a network of professionals and volunteers engaged in restoring badly distorted faces of children. Per Anger received the award in 2001. He was recognized for his collaboration with Raoul Wallenberg in saving Hungarian Jews during WWII. The most recent recipient of the award (2003) is the Reverend Dr. Haruun L. Ruun of Sudan for his extraordinary efforts to bring peace to the divided state.

The Spirit of Raoul Wallenberg Award consists of a cash prize of $5,000 and a specially designed bowl from Orrefors, Sweden which is presented to the award recipient at the award ceremony which is scheduled for October of 2009.

The Raoul Wallenberg Selection Committee is currently accepting nominations for the museum’s 2009 award. Downloaded Nominations forms must be submitted by September 30, 2008.

Photograph credits
Copyright © American Swedish Historical Museum. All rights reserved